10 Easy Tips for Creating a Vision Board That Actually Works!

manifestation, Spirituality

Hello! And welcome back, friend! If you’re new here, I’m Heather Ione, a Manifestation Guide who helps women create their dream life through manifestation techniques and self-growth: addressing self-sabotage, getting rid of limiting beliefs, healing past trauma – all of that!

I’ve had my own incredible experience with the Law of Attraction and used it to manifest money, a move, vacations, my partner, my dream car, and so much more! If you want to learn about my manifestation story, check it out in my blog post, “How I Transformed My Life with the Law of Attraction.” Now, I’ve made it my mission to help other women create that transformation too! 

Today, I want to talk about one of the most popular manifestation topics: VISION BOARDS! I would say that by far, the vision board is the most talked about and utilized manifestation tool. I know countless women who create vision boards. But sadly, in my conversations, I always come across women who LOVE vision boarding and attend all of the “vision board events,” but don’t see any results from it.

I regularly teach that manifestation, vision boarding, and visualizing DO work, BUT you have to know how to do it to make it potent and powerful. Otherwise, you’re left with a pretty collage but nothing in your life that came from it.

So to help you FINALLY manifest some real results with your vision board this year, I’m sharing 10 Easy Tips for Creating a Vision Board That Actually Works! Read these tips below, let them soak in, and use them the next time you go to create your vision board. If you do, I swear you will be flooded by the results!

1. Create a board that works for YOU

If there’s one thing that I really want to hit on, it’s that your own vision board can be whatever you want it to be! There are countless influencers and content creators that share their own vision board process and portray it as the “correct” way to vision board. Maybe you’ve even heard before that, “Vision boards have to be physical for them to work.” I’ve been told that!

But here’s the thing: There is no “right” way to vision board. Your vision board can be whatever it is you want it to be. Just because Sally says that a vision board has to be physical, or has to be hung up on the fridge, or has to be digital, or has to be on Pinterest, does not mean that you have to do it too!

Some people THRIVE when their vision board is made as a digital collage and they save it as their wallpaper on their phone. Some people swear it only works if they put it in their bedroom or on the refrigerator door. Some people adore using Pinterest to make a vision board. And some people choose to get even more creative and make a “Mind Movie” (A manifestation tool suggested by author Dr. Joe Dispenza). A Mind Movie is a little slideshow or movie that people make with the images and pictures that represent their dream life which they add music too. 

I want you to know right now that in order for your vision board to be “successful” it doesn’t matter what platform you create it in and whether it’s physical or digital. What matters is that the method you choose works for your lifestyle. When I was able to manifest all of those crazy things in my life, I was exclusively using private Pinterest boards. But now, at this point in my life, a physical vision board makes sense for me. 

2. Stop being critical 

The second thing that you should know is to not be critical of yourself. A vision board is NOT an art contest. And it’s not an art class either where all of your peers are going to see it. It’s supposed to represent the things in your life that you want. I would say that it should be somewhat aesthetically pleasing to your eye, but it does not have to be a work of art! That’s not the purpose of it. Remind yourself ahead of time to leave the perfectionism behind and mentally prepare yourself that this is going to be a vision board, not art. The more you remind yourself of that ahead of time, the easier it will be!

3. Reflect on your dream lifestyle

The third thing that you should do before you get to creating it is to sit down with a notebook and reflect on what your dream lifestyle would be. I say lifestyle because your vision board should represent what your dream LIFE would look like, not just the material possessions.

If you have a vision board with only cars, diamonds, and money on it, it probably won’t work. My very first vision boards used to be like that and it got me nowhere. Here’s why: You have to have an emotional connection to your vision board and see how those items would be ingrained in your life. If you’re including pictures that represent your dream relationship that’s going to connect with you more than a picture of a diamond ring. See what I mean? Including photos that represent your dream CAREER will connect with you in a way that a number on a bank balance won’t.

So before you get crafty, sit down and think about your dream lifestyle: your career, health, relationships, social life, hobbies, spirituality, mindset, and accomplishments. If you create the vision board around your dream lifestyle rather than what item you want, it’s going to work better. Take some time to really figure out what your perfect life would look like before you choose the images. 

4. Pick images that light you up

Once you’re ready to begin, start looking for photos. These photos should be ones that create a spark and excitement in you. If they don’t symbolize your dream perfectly and make you feel the emotions of already having it, then the photo isn’t going to work for you.

Another thing that I will say is don’t give up and settle for a photo just to be done with the vision board. If you want it to work you have to choose the perfect, symbolic photos. Sometimes, I will even spend an hour searching for the right photo because I know that I have to get it right otherwise the photo is pointless. For that reason, it may even be to your benefit to spend a few days just collecting all the photos that you need. I like to do it this way because then it doesn’t feel rushed to find the photos that speak to me and when I put it all together it can just be fun and relaxing. 

5. Create your own images

When all else fails, sometimes it’s just better to create your own images for some of the items on your vision board. But that’s actually a good thing! I highly suggest that everyone take the time to create a few images on their board because it brings the item to life more and makes it more real. You’re also able to connect with it more deeply because the image is literally perfect and designed to reflect your exact desire. 

For example, the last time I made a vision board, I took the time to go on Canva, use a photo of checks and put my name on them with the desired amount of money I wanted to manifest. In less than one month, I manifested it in the most unexpected way! I also did this with my bank balance. Instead of finding an image of someone else’s bank balance, I decided to screenshot mine, and use the exact font and coloring to reflect the amount I wanted to see in the bank instead.

This makes your vision board so much more powerful because then you’re able to really see those details like your own name and your own account so that you can connect with the photos on a deeper level. It also creates a greater sense of faith that way you want will come true because you are seeing the exact outcome right in front of you!

6. Incorporate your Universal Signs

If you’ve read my blog post, “How to Recognize Universal Signs,” you know that I’m a big believer in the universe sending us little signs and nudges that we’re on the right path. I also believe that we have our very own, personal universal signs.

After I became more spiritual, started praying regularly, started raising my vibration, and manifesting more, I started to notice that I saw the same few things appearing over and over. Whenever I was in a high vibe, spiritual state, I would see yellow butterflies, hawks, shooting stars, and pink skies. After noticing that happening to me for years, I finally realized that those are my own universal signs. And we all have them! If you know some of your own universal signs (little animals, messages, or numbers that appear) incorporate those in your vision board!

By incorporating images that are symbolic of the universe having your back and guiding you, you’re going to be able to couple THAT feeling with the images of what you’re trying to manifest. You’re including an aspect of faith in your vision board which energetically makes you surrender your desires over to the universe. Rather than staring at the items and feeling like you have to control them or make them happen.

7. Add movement and texture

Another thing that you can do to make your vision board more powerful is by adding movement and texture to it. When I say add movement, I mean that you should try to place some things up and down the page (or digital vision board) or place pictures at an angle. Do things like this to add subtle movement so that the images are not rigid and all placed in a straight line. Creating that movement allows your eyes to “play” and wander around the board with more ease. Again, it’s a subtle, energetic thing that you can do to make the experience of the vision board more powerful so it works better.

As far as texture, do things that add some physical sensation or texture to the board so it feels like more of a full sensory experience. What I mean by this is maybe don’t cut some photos in a straight line, but tear them so it appears that there’s some physical sensation on the board.

What I like to do is use tape to make my physical vision boards and I put each piece of tape over the edges of the pictures instead of underneath them. Yes, I know that some people might think it’s not as “artistic” but I do that to create texture. This way, if I choose to move my hand over the vision board, I can have a sensation under my fingertips to bring the board to life. 

8. Make it a full sensory experience!

When you are creating a vision board, one thing that you can do that’s going to amplify the power of the vision board (like crazy) is making the process a full-sensory experience. 

What I mean by this, is making the process of putting together your new vision board feel lovely for all five of your senses. Put on music, sit with a cozy blanket, diffuse your essential oils, light a candle, and drink something yummy like Golden Milk or sweet tea. (Check out my blog post all about Golden Milk for my very own recipe!) By making the experience pleasurable for all five senses, you’re raising your vibration and connecting with the vision board on a deeper level.

It also just makes the creation of it more fun and exciting. AND if you really love the experience and connect all five senses to the vision board, you’re most likely going to want to use it more rather than throw it in the back of your closet.

9. Finish it in one sitting

Answer me this: Have you ever sat down, worked on half of your vision board and then told yourself… “I’ll come back to it tomorrow!”

Mhmmm. Let me guess, you didn’t get back to your vision board. And it ended up sitting in the corner of your bedroom for months collecting dust, didn’t it? Trust me, I’m not judging you! I’ve done it too!! If you’re going to give yourself one “rule” when it comes to creating a vision board, let it be this one: You have to finish it in one sitting.

We both know that your vision board isn’t going to work if it’s never finished, right? So if you want, maybe take some time to collect your photos. (I know that I need more than one day to find the right photos.) However, always do the cutting, pasting, designing, and gluing in one sitting! No one likes to come back in the middle of a half-finished project. It’s just not as satisfying. And more times than not, it will stay incomplete. 

10. Make it a ritual 

The people who I’ve met that are the most successful with vision boarding, are the people who make it a ritual. They choose a particular day like New Year’s, or their birthday, or maybe an astrological event that they feel very connected to, and they create their vision board at that time every year. It works because you’re adding discipline to your manifestation practice, BUT you’re also reminded to go back to your old board to notice all of the things that came true for you!! That alone gives you faith in the Law of Attraction and strengthens your ability to manifest whatever it is that you want.

Thank you for coming to my blog!

I hope you enjoyed this blog post all about how to create a vision board that actually works! 

If you do use this advice, tag me in your pictures or stories of your creation process and final vision board on Instagram @heather.ione! I would absolutely love to see your creations!

Photos by Ray Reyes @rocketsciencephoto.

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

4 thoughts on “10 Easy Tips for Creating a Vision Board That Actually Works!

    1. Yay! (: That makes me so happy! Send me a picture of it or tag me on Instagram when you’re done! I would LOVE to see it

      Like

Leave a comment